Academic Technology SupportInstructor Guides - Canvas SettingsHow do I access the Canvas test environment as an instructor?

How do I access the Canvas test environment as an instructor?

How do I access the Canvas test environment as an instructor?

In the test environment, you can test using your real data without messing up your live production environment. Here you can add users, test course content, and/or troubleshoot issues without ruining the experience for your users. The test environment is overwritten with data from the production environment every three weeks. You can configure your test environment with production-ready features, such as access to your institution's login authentication system.

If you want to keep up on the latest production features in Canvas, visit the Release Notes page in the Canvas Community.

The test environment is separate from the beta environment, which is overwritten with data from the production environment every week and allows you to explore new features before they reach production. Learn more about the different Canvas environments.  

Notes about the Test Environment:

  • All users can access the Canvas test environment, but students cannot access course content beyond the Course Home Page; if you want to allow students to view all course content, please contact your local Admin.
  • Notifications, including course invitations and report downloads, cannot be sent in the test environment.
  • Any changes you want to keep in the test environment must be made directly within the production environment in order to affect live data.
  • LTI tools (External Apps) are typically not available in the outside the production environment. LTI tools may display in the test environment, but often they are only configured for the production environment. Using production-configured LTI tools in the beta environment will affect live data. If you have permission to edit LTI tools, you can confirm the configuration for a specific LTI tool in your course or account. Please contact your Customer Success Manager for specific questions.
  • Feature option settings are never copied from production and always retain their default settings.