Academic Technology GuidesInstructor Guides PeopleHow do I deactivate an enrollment in a course?

How do I deactivate an enrollment in a course?

How do I deactivate an enrollment in a course?

You may be able to deactivate an enrollment in your course within your course Settings in Canvas. An inactive enrollment retains prior activity in a course but does not allow the student to access course content. This status can be used for students who do not pay tuition or drop the course at a future date. Inactive students do not appear in any messaging lists within the course and cannot be added to a group. Grades for inactive students still display in the Gradebook and can be edited like other students.

To see course participation for an inactive enrollment compared to other enrollment types, view the Canvas Enrollment Status Comparison PDF.

Note: Enrollments may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If an enrollment includes an SIS ID, you cannot deactivate an enrollment from the course. Additionally, deactivating enrollments is a course permission. If you cannot deactivate enrollments in your course, your institution has restricted this feature.