Academic Technology SupportInstructor Guides - Canvas PeopleHow do I limit a user to only interact with other users in the same course section?

How do I limit a user to only interact with other users in the same course section?

How do I limit a user to only interact with other users in the same course section?

If your course includes multiple sections, you can limit users in a section to only see users enrolled in the same section. This option is useful when several sections have been cross-listed into a single course.

You can set limitations when adding users to a course, or after students have already been added to the course.

Limiting students to interact by section only affects Collaborations, Chat, People, and Conversations. When enrolling instructors and TAs, section limitations allow those users to grade students in their same section(s).

Discussion topics and Pages are not affected by section limitations and can be viewed by any student. These feature areas could be restricted by creating content in course groups.

Note: The option to limit a user displays even if there is only one section in the course.