Academic Technology SupportInstructor Guides - Canvas CoursesHow do I sync course content in a blueprint course as an instructor?

How do I sync course content in a blueprint course as an instructor?

How do I sync course content in a blueprint course as an instructor?

If you are enrolled in a blueprint course as an instructor, you can sync blueprint content changes to associated courses.

Content Sync

After a change is made to an object or attribute, the blueprint course sidebar display a sync option indicating that unsynced changes have been made in the course. Content can be synced at any time.

All course content will be included in a blueprint sync, regardless of whether content is locked. Changed content will always overwrite the existing content in the associated courses for all locked objects. Content that can be managed by an instructor or new content created in an associated course by the instructor is not affected.

If the blueprint course includes Modules, associated courses match the modules structure initially created in the blueprint courses. However, any additional modules and their content added to the blueprint course will always be added to the bottom of the Modules page in the associated courses.

Content State

The sync will include the state of each object as it exists in the blueprint course. For instance, if an assignment is unpublished in the blueprint course, it will also be unpublished in the associated course. However, once the state is changed in the associated course, the state within the blueprint course will no longer apply.

Note:

  • Blueprint Courses is currently an account opt-in feature. To view if your course is a blueprint course, view the Course Details page in Course Settings.
  • Changes within Course Settings do not trigger unsynced changes. The course only recognizes unsynced changes when a change is made to course content.