Academic Technology SupportInstructor Guides - Canvas CoursesHow do I lock course objects in a blueprint course as an instructor?

How do I lock course objects in a blueprint course as an instructor?

How do I lock course objects in a blueprint course as an instructor?

If you are enrolled in a blueprint course as an instructor, you can lock and unlock course objects and sync content for the blueprint course.

Unlocked Objects

Objects that are unlocked can be managed by a course instructor in the associated course like any other Canvas object. If the blueprint course is synced and the instructor has modified unlocked content in the associated course, unlocked content is not overwritten with the synced changes.

Locked Objects

Locking an object in a course enforces the attributes defined by your Canvas admin. If you are not sure how objects were defined for the course, you can view locked attributes by viewing an individual content item. Object definitions and attributes for locked objects may be changed in the blueprint at any time. However, any change to an attribute retroactively applies to all locked objects in your course. If an attribute is enabled for locked objects in the blueprint course, any locked content attributes in your course that vary from locked content attributes in the blueprint course will trigger unsynced changes in the blueprint course and override your course content.

Locking or unlocking an object applies immediately to all associated courses. However, the change will still be noted as an unsynced change and will not appear in the Sync History page until the sync is complete. Additionally, changes are not identified as an unsynced change until the page is refreshed. 

This lesson shows how to lock an object from the Assignments page. Objects can also be managed in the Files, Modules, Pages, and Quizzes pages.

Notes:

  • Blueprint Courses is currently an account opt-in feature. To view if your course is a blueprint course, view the Course Details page in Course Settings.
  • You can only lock and unlock content created in the blueprint course. Any new content added to an associated course by an instructor does not include a blueprint icon and is not associated with the blueprint course.